August 2018

Friday, August 31 2018

August 2018

This is a text only version of the newsletter. To view the newsletter online, click here.

This month's edition of the Heritage and Education Centre (HEC) Newsletter includes Open House London, our Thomas Chapman PhD scholarships and an exciting exhibition with Museum of London Archaeology. 

Open House London

On the 22 September, 71 Fenchurch Street will be throwing open its doors to the public for Open House London 2018! Open House London is a free public event where more than 800 sites across the capital open their doors to allow the public to explore buildings and organisations that are not normally accessible. It's a fantastic opportunity to learn more about London, its architecture and heritage and of the organisations that operate in the city.

At 71 Fenchurch Street you will be able to explore the modern Richard Rogers building and listen to a talk about its innovative design, see the finds found on this site by MOLA that tell the story of Roman and Medieval London and enjoy the decorative interior of the historic Collcutt building. 

The building has free giveaways, toilets and is suitable for families (there will be a children's trail).

You do not have to book a ticket. 

For more information. visit the Open House website.

Thomas Chapman PhD Scholarships 

We are pleased to announce that we have appointed two candidates for the Thomas Chapman PhD scholarships.  

Peter Phillipson, is a retired engineer, who has since gained a BA in History and Italian and an MA in Renewable Energy. Peter will be looking at ship design and safety throughout the nineteenth century 

Alexandra Barber, who gained a BA in History and Maritime History at Hull, and is now completing a MRes in Maritime History. Alexandra will be looking at safety measures in the distant water trawl fisheries since the 1900s. 

They will be using our collections and archives as part of their research. We are excited to have them start with us in September and wish them all the best! 

MOLA Exhibition 

In the 1990s, the Museum of London Archaeology carried out excavations at 71 Fenchurch Street prior to the construction of the Richard Rogers building. Their excavations uncovered a wealth of knowledge about Roman, Medieval and Early Modern London and helped to create a more detailed picture of how London was.  

To coincide with Open House, we have been working with MOLA to design an exhibition showcasing these unique finds. Layers Under London will help tell the story of London's history from being a Roman settlement through to a bustling Early Modern City.  

Visit us on the 22 September to view these unique and wonderful finds that have not previously been seen by the public! 

Interesting Enquiries 

This month we had an enquiry from a gentleman in Chicago who had an oil painting of a ship called Monkseaton. 

The painting had been dramatically damaged at some point in its life but the gentleman had had it restored but was unable to identify the ship or its owners. To try an identify it, he sent images of the damaged and the restored painting to us. 

The owner's flag, white with a black elephant, was clearly displayed on the ship meaning that the identity of the ship could be traced through the owner. This was the house flag of a Newcastle company called Elliott, Lowrey & Dunford. 

The Monkseaton was built to Lloyd's Register class by Swan & Hunter in Newcastle in 1882. She was an early example of a British two funnelled iron steamer. She was sold to be broken up in 1908 in Italy. 

The gentleman from Chicago was pleased to learn this information as, in his words, it was He was very excited by all this information as in his words it was ‘an obscure British merchant ship’.

Public Engagement

After a successful summer of lectures, we're planning more exciting opportunities for the public to engage with and explore our archives and its hidden treasures. This will be through a series of lectures and talks, university visits and digital engagement. 

This is part of our commitment to promoting the organisation to a wider audience, we uphold the value of our past, and help fulfil our mission to advance education for the benefit of society.  

For more information, visit our website.

Undaunted Update 

This past month the Project Undaunted team have had plenty to be getting on with! August has been a busy one as we have ploughed on with the finessing and fine tuning of our unique Content Management System (CMS)! The culmination of many many months, the extensive and rigorous testing of this system has been a prime focus for the project. As a part of this testing we have conducted cataloguing trials to improve the speed of creating records, we have explored various formatting options to improve the display of our data, and we continue to test the search functionality to its limits. With the data import of our First and Famous records last month, our CMS is definitely taking shape! Watch this space! 
In addition to this, we have also been hard at work examining and cleaning our data in preparation for the project’s upcoming data import next month. The records currently being cleaned number approximately 10,000 and consist of all records for Dutch ports held by LR, as well as the earliest LR records for English ports in the North East. Preparing this fascinating data has been another key concern for the Project Undaunted team, though there is still much to be done. 

Earlier on this month, LR’s collection yielded another intriguing record for a ship with a tragic history, the Annie Jane. Built in Quebec in 1853 by Baldwin Dinning & Co, Annie Jane was constructed to a gross register tonnage of 1294. Completing a voyage to Liverpool, she was fitted out to carry emigrants on her return journey back to Quebec under a Captain William Mason. After being damaged in high winds, she returned for repair, and set off in September carrying 430 emigrants hoping to start a new life across the Atlantic. Tragically, on the 28th of that month, in the Outer Hebridean island of Vatersay, she ran aground on the reefs during another storm. The death toll is believed to be 350 people, making it one of the century’s largest peacetime disasters at sea. A monument to the dead still stands on the island of Vatersay.

These are a few of our favourite things...

Last month we had Dermot Fowler with us on work experience. As well as working incredibly hard helping us with upcoming projects, Dermot also took the time to explore the building and write about his favourite thing.  The General Committee Room is undoubtedly the foremost jewel in the crown of the Collcutt building; marble and mahogany adorn the lavish saloon, history bears its face in rich embellishments. These embellishments gaze up to a painted ceiling inspired by that of Michelangelo’s Sistine Chapel, a work that both literally and aesthetically transcends all below it. Gerald Moira is the man behind the masterpiece. 

Follow the link to read the rest of Dermot's blog

Did You Know? 

In 1891, Bill Bradley started working at Lloyd's Register and, being an avid cricketer, joined the Cricket Club. At the annual dinner that year it was noted that; “the addition of 91’s made to our ranks, in the person of young Bradley, “Demon” bowler he, who sadly upsets Batsmen’s calculations with his pranks.” His ability as a bowler and player did not go unnoticed as he ended up playing for England against Australia in the 1899 Test Match. The England team included the likes of W G Grace and Wilfred Rhodes.